Councils and Committees

In support of the educational mission of the University, faculty actively participate in shaping our community. As an important facet of governance, faculty and staff members are expected to be willing to share in the work of the University through councils, committees, and task forces.

The individual council and committee links below are for secure web pages; log in may be required. More information on councils and committees is available in the Stetson University Policies and Procedures Section 2 - Organization and Administration of the University.

» 2016-2017 University Committees Membership

» 2017-2018 University Committees Membership

» 2018-2019 University Committees Membership

Council and Committees Listing

General Councils

Academic Leaders

Faculty Senate


The following councils and committees report to the President or to the President's Cabinet

Tenure, Grievance, and Academic Freedom Committee

University Athletics Committee

University Faculty Compensation Committee


The following councils and committees report to the Provost.

Academic Technology Committee

Admissions Committee

Artists and Lecturers Committee

Core Learning Committee

Honor System Council Advisory Committee

Honors Program Executive Committee

Institutional Review Board for Human Participants (IRB)

International Learning Committee

Professional Development Committee

Undergraduate Research Council

University Council on Curriculum and Academic Policy (UCCAP)

University Council on Curriculum and Academic Policy Steering Committee

University General Education Committee (UGEC)

University Promotion and Tenure Committee

Dean and AVP

The following are the councils and committees who report to the Provost through an academic dean or assistant/associate vice president.

Africana Studies Committee

College of Arts and Sciences Curriculum Committee

Council of Undergraduate Associate Deans (CUAD)

Digital Arts Committee

Health Professions Advisory Committee (HPAC)

Institutional Animal Use and Care Committee (IACUC)

School of Business Administration Curriculum Committee

Women and Gender Studies Committee

Past Committees

The following are the councils and committees which are no longer active; webpages are available for reference.

Academic Planning Advisory Committee (APAC)

Campus Life and Student Success Committee

General Education Assessment Committee (GEAC)

Library Committee

General Purpose

University councils, committees, and task forces are established with the mission to:

  • Carry out ongoing work and special projects related to the educational purposes of the University;
  • Insure creativity, involvement, and communication among the faculty in the work of the University;
  • Assure faculty representation in and communication with the administration of the University in all matters involving their mutual concern;
  • Unify the University in its common tasks;
  • Give faculty members a share in the decision-making processes which affect their well-being and work; and
  • Distribute the workload of the University as evenly as possible.

University committees are appointed by the Provost, who consults with the Dean’s Council and the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate regarding membership and chairs.

Each committee, within the general framework of its description of responsibilities, develops its own procedures. These should include the keeping of minutes. At the end of each year, a brief summary annual report of the actions of the committee and any recommendations should be made to the Provost.