Lambda Pi Eta

About Lambda Pi Eta

Lambda Pi Eta has over 400 active chapters at four-year colleges and universities worldwide. The society was founded in 1985 at the University of Arkansas, became a part of the National Communication Association (N.C.A.) in 1988, and was named the official honor society of the N.C.A. in July 1995.

Founded in 2001, Stetson University chapter's goal is to honor academic excellence in the field of communication studies and to foster growth within both the academic and professional careers of communication studies students and graduates.

Lambda Pi Eta represents what Aristotle described in On Rhetoric as the three ingredients of persuasion: Logos (Lambda) meaning logic, Pathos (Pi) relating to emotion, and Ethos (Eta) defined as character, credibility, and ethics.


  1. Recognize, foster, and reward outstanding scholastic achievement in communication studies
  2. Stimulate interest in the field of communication studies
  3. Promote and encourage professional development among communication studies majors
  4. Provide an opportunity to discuss and exchange ideas in the field of communication studies
  5. Establish and maintain closer relationships between faculty and students
  6. Explore options for graduate education in communication studies

National Recognition

Lambda Pi Eta is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies, whose mission is to build a visibly cohesive community of national and international honor societies, individually and collaboratively exhibiting excellence in scholarship, service, programs and governance.

Membership Requirements

  • Completion of 60 credit hours or 15 units
  • Completion of 12 credit hours or three units within Communication and Media Studies
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.0
  • Cumulative Communication and Media Studies GPA of 3.25
  • Class standing in the top 35 percent of your class
  • Exhibit high standards of personal and professional character

Membership is by invitation. However, if you feel you meet the requirements, please contact the faculty advisor for verification.

Contact Information

Tara J. Schuwerk, Ph.D., faculty advisor

Communication Studies Society

The Communication Studies Society at Stetson University works closely with Lambda Pi Eta and is open to all interested Communication and Media Studies majors and minors. The Society is currently being formed and is looking for new members. The society and LPH are planning several events such as a movie night, and a possible Communication Mixer. Your participation is welcome and so are your ideas -- please contact the LPH president.


  • Kai Eckenrode, president
  • Layla Rivera, vice president
  • Stephanie Gonzalez, secretary
  • Jewel Connelly, treasurer
  • Camille Bodden, scholarship officer


  • James Albright
  • Michael Paul Cartledge
  • Ashley Dennis
  • Charlotte McFarland
  • Kara Oldford
  • Shaquille Rainge
  • Ryan Rinaldo
  • Stephen Schofield
  • Olivia Sorrells