Sigma Iota Rho

Sigma Iota Rho

Students who have a grade point average of 3.4 in their major and 3.3 overall are eligible for membership in the honor society of international studies, Sigma Iota Rho. The purpose of the Society is to promote and reward scholarship and service among students of International Studies and to foster integrity and creative performance in the understanding of world affairs. Membership in Sigma Iota Rho is intended not only to enhance the credentials of its members, though public recognition of the best and the brightest students in international studies is one of our main purposes, but is meant to encourage a life-long devotion to a better understanding of the world we live in and to promote continuing support for and engagement in education, service, and occupational activities that reflect the mission of Sigma Iota Rho.

Membership & Chapter Structure

Executive Committee

Alumni Committee

Faculty Board

  • T. Wayne Bailey, PhD, advisor
  • Eugene Huskey, PhD
  • Stephen Day, PhD
  • Carolyn Mueller, PhD
  • Margaret Venzke, PhD

Advisory Board

  • Ana Eire, PhD
  • Paula Hentz
  • Eric Kurlander, PhD
  • Leander Seah, PhD
  • Robert Sitler, PhD
  • Russel Triplett, PhD
  • Nancy Vosburg, PhD

Eligibility Requirements

Students must meet the following criteria:

  • Have completed 20 credits (5 units) in international studies including coursework, including work in relevant subject areas such as economics, foreign languages, geography, history, political science, and other related disciplines;
  • Have attained a junior standing.
  • Have attained a cumulative grade point average of 3.3 or higher in all courses, and a grade point average of at least 3.4 in international studies courses.
  • Must maintain full-time student status of at least twelve hours to be a voting member or hold an office.

Application Information

Students who meet the requirements should fill out the application form, print it out, attach a printout of your degree audit, and submit it to the Political Science Office (Elizabeth 334), together with the $45 induction fee.