John Hague Teaching Award

Established in 2007 and named in honor of John Hague, professor emeritus of American studies, the John Hague Teaching Award celebrates Stetson University's tradition of excellence in teaching the liberal arts and sciences and our devotion to scholarship, morality and friendship, the guiding principles of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest and most prestigious undergraduate honorary society. A widely admired teacher, scholar and academic leader, Professor Hague led Stetson University's application to earn a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa in 1982, the first chapter established at a private university in Florida.

History of Recipients


J. Anthony (Tony) Abbott, Professor of Environmental Science and Studies


Melinda Hall, Associate Professor of Philosophy


Mayhill Fowler, Assistant Professor of History


Grady W. Ballenger, Professor of English

John Hague Teaching Award Recipients 1988 to Present

» Please note that recipient titles are listed based on the date of the award and may not reflect current titles.