Skip to Content

Sabbatical Leaves

The core focus of Stetson University’s mission is learning and the priority is the creation of a stimulating, inclusive learning community that encourages a lifelong commitment to learning. Stetson’s faculty inspire and model this commitment through the teacher-scholar role. It is through the integration of teachers’ facilitation of student learning and scholars’ continuous intellectual and creative inquiry that a learning community comes alive and thrives. It is also through continuous engagement in scholarly and creative inquiry that teacher-scholar faculty continue their learning and thereby cultivate a culture of lifelong learning – at Stetson University and in society.

Stetson University supports sabbatical leaves for its tenured faculty to promote teacher-scholar professional development of faculty within the applicant’s discipline. As outlined in the Policy on Sabbatical Leave (, Policies and Procedures, Section 3 - Academic Affairs), tenured faculty members are eligible for a sabbatical leave after each six years of service at Stetson.

2018-2019 Sabbatical Leaves

Sabbatical Leave Information Packet for 2018-2019 Applicants

The 2018-19 application is now closed.

Recent Sabbatical Activities

2017-2018 Faculty Sabbaticals

2016-2017 Faculty Sabbaticals

2015-2016 Faculty Sabbaticals