Theta Alpha Kappa


In 1976, professor Albert Clark, F.S.C., established Theta Alpha Kappa at Manhattan College in Riverdale (the Bronx), New York for the purpose of recognizing the academic achievements of religion and theology students. Since then, Theta Alpha Kappa has grown to more than two hundred chapters nationally in four-year educational institutions ranging from small religiously affiliated colleges to large public research institutions. It is the only national honor society dedicated to recognizing academic excellence in baccalaureate and post-baccalaureate students and in scholars in the fields of Religious Studies and Theology!

In addition to encouraging the activities of local chapters, Theta Alpha Kappa maintains a vigorous national program of scholarship awards and fellowship competitions; its primary publication, the Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa, offers an annual prize and the publication of outstanding student papers.

» Learn More

Alpha Gamma Omicron

Stetson University's own chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa, Alpha Gamma Omicron, was founded in 1996, with over 148 members having been initiated into the chapter since! 

Our current president is Dr. Christopher Bell.


To be considered for membership with Theta Alpha Kappa, the following must be achieved:

  1. Complete at least 4 courses in the Religious Studies Program 
    • Of which one must be at the 300-level or above
  2. Obtain and maintain at least a 3.50 GPA in said courses
    • Maintain an overall 3.0 GPA 
  3. Ranked (if appropriate) in the top 35% of their class
  4. Must be a Religious Studies Major or Minor at the time of nomination

Spring 2022 Theta Alpha Kappa Membership 

Theta Alpha Kappa Inductees for Spring 2022-2.jpg

On Tuesday, April 26, 2022, at 5:30 p.m., Stetson University’s Theta Alpha Kappa Chapter, Alpha Gamma Omicron, inducted five new members: Charles Isaac Drummond, Elexis Evans, Mallory Holland, Lana Kolchinsky, and Brianna Vash. The inductees are pictured above from left to right: Dr. Christopher Bell, Lana Kolchinsky, Brianna Vash, Elexis Evans, Charles Isaac Drummond, Mallory Holland, and Dr. Mitchell Reddish.

Alpha Gamma Omicron 2022-23

  • Charles Isaac Drummond 
  • Elexis Evans
  • Mallory Holland
  • Lana Kolchinsky
  • Brianna Vash

National Theta Alpha Kappa Leadership

  • President - Eric F. Mason, Judson University
  • Vice President - David Nikkel, University of North Carolina at Pembroke
  • Secretary - Andrea L. Stanton, University of Denver
  • Treasurer - Christopher McMahon, Saint Vincent College