Quick Links

Share Article:

College of Law honors alumni, friends

Law annual awardsStetson University College of Law Dean Christopher Pietruszkiewicz and Stetson Lawyers Association president Jenay Iurato JD/MBA ’00 presented five annual awards to alumni and friends on June 27 in Boca Raton, in conjunction with the Florida Bar’s annual meeting. (Pictured center, Joseph J. Reiter JD ’68 is presented the Ben C. Willard Award for humanitarian achievements, from Iurato, left, and Dean Pietruszkiewicz.)

Clara and George Nenezian received the Distinguished Service Award for their significant, meritorious and continuing contributions to Stetson Law. The Nenezians started an endowed scholarship, the Nenezian-Jones Scholarship, in honor of their late son Richard Nenezian JD ’84. For more than a decade, the Nenezians have supported a popular annual event, the Nenezian-Jones Scholarship Softball Classic, bringing together Stetson law alumni and students and encouraging mentorship and character development.

Vincent A. Citro BBA ’98, JD/MBA ’00 received the 2013 Distinguished Alumnus Award for service to the Stetson Law and the legal profession. An assistant U.S. attorney, Citro has successfully convicted many criminals in the state. Citro has served as deputy chief of the Orlando Division of the U.S. Attorney’s office as well as national security cyber specialist and anti-terrorism advisory council coordinator.

Stetson awarded Deborah C. Brown JD ’87 the Paul M. May Meritorious Service Award for continuously supporting Stetson Law and its alumni association. Brown served for six years as the law school’s associate vice president for legal affairs and human resources and for seven years as an adjunct professor. She volunteered as lead facilitator of the Stetson Lawyers Association Tampa Chapter working group and was recognized with Stetson’s Outstanding Alumni Representative Award in 2003. Brown has served as chair of the Florida Bar’s Labor and Employment Law Section, Continuing Legal Education Committee, and Labor and Employment Law Certification Committee.

Judge William Raymond Holley BA ’91, JD ’97 received the Outstanding Alumni Representative Award for dedication and service to the Stetson Lawyers Association. Judge Holley is a community leader in Jacksonville who previously served in private practice and as an assistant state attorney for the Fourth Judicial Circuit. Judge Holley also serves on the board of the Stetson University Alumni Association.

Joseph J. Reiter JD ’68 received the Ben C. Willard Award for humanitarian achievements bringing distinction to themselves and Stetson Law. Inducted into the Stetson Law Hall of Fame in 2007, Reiter rose from poverty to a stellar legal career as a trial attorney. He has served as president of the Florida Bar, chair of the Judicial Qualifications Committee, treasurer and board member of the Palm Beach County Legal Aid Society, a lecturer on ethics and personal injury law, a member of the College of Law Board of Overseers, and has been recognized in Best Lawyers in America. Reiter served in the U.S. Army during the Korean War.

Visit the Stetson University College of Law for this and other news and information.