Quick Links

Share Article:

Law students win moot court competitions

Jessup team (L-R): Diana Evans, Carly Ross, Caitlein Jammo and Sharon Galantino.

GULFPORT, Fla.— Stetson University College of Law moot court teams won two competitions, two oralist awards, and a best memorial award over the weekend.

The Stetson team of Diana Evans, Sharon Galantino, Caitlein Jammo and Carly Ross won the south regional round of the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition and the best memorial award this past weekend in Houston, Texas. Diana Evans also won the fourth-best oralist award. The team will advance to the international rounds of the world’s largest moot court competition in Washington, D.C., March 25-31.  Professor Jason Palmer and attorney Logan Murphy coached the winning team.

(L-R): Jhenerr Hines, Christian Leger and Stephanie Sawchuk

The Stetson team of Jhenerr Hines, Christian Leger and Stephanie Sawchuk won the 11th Circuit Bankruptcy Competition, sponsored by the University of Miami and the Bankruptcy Bar Association, in Miami this past weekend. A second team, Amanda Chazal, Erik Johanson and Greg Ludtka, were semifinalists, and Johanson received the best oralist award. Students will compete in the 20th annual Honorable Conrad Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition in New York City, on March 10-12.

Student Meagan Foley won the best oralist award at the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Pre-Moot, sponsored by the Florida Bar International Law Section, in Miami this past weekend. Stetson students have consistently won the first or second place oralist awards in this competition, since its inception in 2005. Professors Stephanie Vaughan, Marco Jimenez, and student John Henley coached the team. Katelyn Desrosiers, Meagan Foley, Ron Hink, Max Holzbaur and Alex Zesch will compete in the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration in Vienna, Austria, March 29-April 5.

Visit Stetson’s award-winning Moot Court Board to learn more.