Quick Links

Share Article:

‘Above and Beyond’

Award winners, from left: Amy Gipson, Ray Almodovar, Annette Accorto, Candi Thompson, Christine Arias, Tonya Curran, Ann Fick, Matt Adair, Trena Wetherington and Vikram Ahmed

The morning of April 9 was all about service to Stetson, as faculty and staff were honored for milestones and achievements during a breakfast in the Hollis Center at the Rinker Field House. Awards were presented for quality of service, while recognition was given to years of service at Stetson and 2019 retirees. 

A total of 10 Employee Recognition Awards, selected from more than 50 nominations, were presented by Stetson’s Quality of Service Council. 

The common theme: “above and beyond.”

Adapter of the Year: Christine Arias (for making a “positive difference in the lives of all she meets” and adapting “on so many levels, and does it all with poise and ease”

Communicator of the Year: Candi Thompson (for her “effective communication that leaves many thanking her for her patience and explanation”)

Extra Mile Award: Annette Accorto (for always going “above and beyond the duties of her job” and doing it with “generosity of spirit, joy and competence”

Mentor of the Year: Ann Fick (for earning the trust of her peers and giving friends, colleagues and acquaintances the “best advice — no matter what, no matter when”)

Money Saver of the Year: Matt Adair (for being a “dedicated individual who went above and beyond to save Stetson University an inordinate amount of money”

Morale Builder of the Year: Ray Almodovar (who is “never seen without a smile on his face” and brings “good humor, friendliness and warmth to all he does”

P.A.R Award (Professionalism, Attitude and Reliability): Trena Wetherington (for her “mannerly way” and being a “wealth of knowledge who is prepared to answer any questions with a quick, kind answer”)

Problem Solver of the Year: Vikram Ahmed (for using “creativity to generate solutions and being open to the suggestions of others; always making sure that everyone feels heard”

Volunteer of the Year: Tonya Curran (because she “not only volunteers of her personal time, but her whole department to assist in promoting the very best of Stetson”)

Spirit of Stetson Award: Amy Gipson (for being a “consummate professional” and “bringing creativity and passion to all that she does, going above and beyond in many ways”)