Quick Links

Share Article:

Regis Steighner Named to FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

Hatter player sprints down the field with the ball
Defensive end Regis Steighner, No. 97, runs 29 yards off a fake punt for a first down against Marist in September 2018.

Stetson University’s Regis Steighner joined an elite fraternity when he was selected to the 2018 FCS Athletics Directors Association Academic All-Star Team.

Steighner is the third player from Stetson to have been named to the team, which is in its 21st year. In 2016, both Donald Payne and Davion Belk were selected to the squad. Payne was also named to the team in 2014.

This year there were a total of 47 players from across Football Championship Subdivision institutions who were selected to the team. Steighner, who will graduate in May, was one of just five defensive linemen selected to the team this year.

portrait in uniform
Regis Steighner

A native of Tarpon Springs, Fla., Steighner is a three-time Pioneer Football League Academic Honor Roll selection who carries a 3.86 cumulative GPA with a double major in Economics and Finance.

“One of the most important responsibilities that the FCS ADA has is the selection of the Annual Academic All-Star Team,” current FCS ADA President Bill Smith, director of athletics at Bryant University, said. “This group of young men are some of the best and brightest football players and scholars in the country. They have been leaders on their individual campuses and have excelled in the classroom, their communities and on the gridiron. They truly exemplify FCS football and now we have the honor of naming them to the 2018 Academic All Star Team.”

Football players from all FCS institutions are eligible for the award. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. They must have reached their second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. They must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at their designated position. 

A special Review Committee of FCS athletics directors was responsible for selecting the 2018 All-Star Team and FCS ADA Postgraduate Scholarship finalists. This year’s Review Committee consisted of: Bill Smith, Bryant University (Chair); Nathan Pine, College of the Holy Cross; Kent Haslam, University of Montana; Ashley Robinson, Jackson State University; and Thorr Bjorn, University of Rhode Island.