Quick Links

Share Article:

Coach Roger Hughes Tabbed as Finalist for Eddie Robinson Award

On the heels of the best football season at Stetson since 1951, Hatters coach Roger Hughes has been selected as one of 15 finalists for the 2018 Eddie Robinson Award.

This is the 32nd year for the award, which is presented annually by STATS FCS to the national coach of the year.

Montage of two photos: one hugging quarterback on the field after a game, and players dumping cooler of cold water on him following another game.

Coach Roger Hughes hugs quarterback Colin McGovern after their 38-35 win at home over Jacksonville University on Oct. 20; and players give him a cold shower following their 45-31 win over Valparaiso University on Nov. 17, capping an 8-2 season.

Named for the legendary coach of Grambling State and first presented in 1987, the Robinson Award’s esteemed list of winners include Mark Duffner, Erk Russell, Chris Ault, Jim Tressel, Houston Nutt, Andy Talley, Paul Johnson, Joe Glenn, Mike Ayers, Jerry Kill, Jerry Moore, K.C. Keeler and two-time winners Mickey Matthews, Sean McDonnell and Craig Bohl.

This year’s finalists include at least one from all 13 FCS conferences. A national panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the winner.

Coach Roger Hughes runs onto the field at the start of a game with players around him.

Roger Hughes just completed his sixth season as head coach of the Hatters.

Hughes, who completed his sixth season as the leader of the Hatters’ program, led Stetson to a six-win improvement from 2017, the second-best mark in the FCS this year. Picked ninth in the Pioneer Football League preseason poll, the Hatters tied for second in the league race.

Stetson’s overall record of 8-2 was the best for the program since the 1951 team went 8-1-2, including a victory over Arkansas State in the Tangerine Bowl. It is just the third time in the history of the program that Stetson has posted eight victories in a season.

The Eddie Robinson Award will be presented at the STATS FCS Awards Banquet on Jan. 4 in Frisco, Texas. At the banquet, STATS will also present the Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year), the Buck Buchanan Award (FCS defensive player of the year), the Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman player of the year) and the Doris Robinson FCS Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Stetson senior tight end Donald Parham, who finished the season as the Division I (FCS &FBS) leader in both receptions per game (9.4) and receiving yards per game (146.6) is one of 25 finalists for the Walter Payton Award. Freshman running back Jareem Westcott, who ranks eighth among all freshmen in FCS in rushing yards with 774 and is tied for the FCS lead among freshmen with 13 rushing touchdowns, is one of 20 finalists for the Jerry Rice Award.