High Expectations for Women’s Basketball

The Hatters were 26-7 last season. More success is predicted for them this year.

The Stetson women’s basketball team – defending ASUN regular-season conference champion – has been picked to finish third in the 2017-2018 Preseason Coaches Poll. The Hatters were picked second in the Media Poll.

In addition, senior Sarah Sagerer (Shörfling, Austria) was tabbed as the ASUN Preseason Defensive Player of the Year, and senior Brittney Chambers (Orlando, Fla.) joined Sagerer on the preseason all-conference team.

Sarah Sagerer

Sagerer is coming off a huge junior season in which she earned ASUN Defensive Player of the Year and First Team All-Conference honors. She ranked seventh in the NCAA with 100 blocked shots, and she led the league in rebounding (8.8) and defensive rebounding (6.4). Offensively, Sagerer averaged 10.4 points per game and scored in double figures 20 times. She also ranked among the league leaders in field goal pct. (.430) and free throw pct. (.760) and was named ASUN Player of the Week three times.

Brittney Chambers

Chambers also had a terrific junior campaign, earning three ASUN Newcomer of the Week awards. She played in all 33 games, averaging 11.8 points and 3.2 rebounds per game while scoring in double figures 22 times. She hit 48 3-pointers, second-most on the team, and her .795 free throw percentage ranked third in the conference. In addition, Chambers earned ASUN all-tournament team honors after averaging 12.3 points per game and shooting .521 from the floor during the postseason.

The Hatters were 26-7 last season and were and NCAA postseason participants for the seventh consecutive year.

The season begins Nov. 10, when the Hatters host Thomas University at the Edmunds Center.

Season tickets can be purchased online at GoHatters.com/tix or by calling the Stetson ticket office at (386) 738-HATS.

2017-2018 ASUN Preseason Coaches Poll
2. Jacksonville
3. Stetson
4. Kennesaw State
5. North Florida
7. USC Upstate
8. Lipscomb

ASUN Preseason Media Poll
2. Stetson
3. Jacksonville
4. Kennesaw State
5. North Florida
6. NJIT 108
7. USC Upstate
8. Lipscomb

ASUN Preseason All-Conference Team
Rosemarie Julien, FGCU (Player of the Year)
Sarah Sagerer, Stetson (Defensive Player of the Year)
Brittney Chambers, Stetson
China Dow, FGCU
Brandi Buie, Jacksonville
Carlotta Gianolla, Kennesaw State
Loren Cagle, Lipscomb
Tytionia Adderly, FGCU
Kayla Gordon, Jacksonville
Tatianna Torres, NJIT