Quarantine and Isolation Information
Isolation for COVID positive individuals remains at 10 days from positive test or onset of symptoms. You must be 24-hour fever and major respiratory symptom free to end isolation.
- You quarantine when you might have been exposed to the virus.
- You isolate when you have been infected with the virus, even if you don’t have symptoms. People who are in isolation should stay home until it’s safe for them to be around others.
Current Isolation Guidelines
Based on Florida Department of Health and CDC guidelines, members of the Stetson community should isolate:
- If they had "close contact" with someone who is COVID-19 positive and are unvaccinated. Please know that a negative COVID-19 test does NOT remove the need for isolation if close contact occurred. If vaccinated, isolation is not required unless they develop symptoms or test positive. Close contact is defined by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) as being within 6 feet of someone for 15 minutes or more. Unvaccinated close contacts can end isolation after 7 days with a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken on day 6 or after.
- For 10 days from the onset of sick symptoms matching our criteria, whether vaccinated or unvaccinated. (See Health Response Protocol)
- For 10 days from the date of a COVID-19 test if they receive a positive test result, whether vaccinated or unvaccinated.
- After return from international travel to an area that requires isolation by Florida Department of Health guidance.
The CDC and Florida DOH modified quarantine protocol for asymptomatic close contact exposure is:
- 10 days from exposure; or
- 7 days from exposure with a negative PCR test result (testing on day 6 or later).
What If I Am Fully Vaccinated?
Based on recent CDC updates, fully vaccinated (two weeks after the second dose in a two-dose series, or two weeks after the one-dose vaccine) individuals:
- do not need to test or quarantine if exposed to someone positive for COVID-19 (if you have no symptoms); however, testing is still recommended 3-5 days after exposure). .
- do not need to regularly test (even athletes and high-risk groups).
- do not need to quarantine upon returning to the U.S after travel.
- will be exempt from mandatory gateway testing.
- will enable Stetson to open up more and more options!
Don’t wait! Find a vaccine near you now by visiting find my vaccine.
Student Isolation Guides
Below you will find two COVID-19 Student Isolation Guides tailored to support resident and commuter experiences. These guides are intended to be resources, providing information that supports you from the start of your isolation period through your clearance to your regular activities. Please know that our staff is here to provide continual support along the way.
For more information about what happens when someone is required to isolate, please consult the FAQs for the DeLand Campus on the Stetson's Safer Campus website (see Isolation category), and for the College of Law consult its FAQs.
At-Home COVID-19 Test Kits
We have received notification from the Florida Department of Health that results from at home COVID-19 test kits are unable to be recorded and reported as valid because of DOH’s inability to confirm these results. All at home tests must be confirmed by at COVID-19 laboratory test.
Therefore, Stetson will isolate based on at-home test results, but we will not count these results as an official positive until it is confirmed by a lab test.
What do I do if someone else or myself is sick or fears exposure?
See Stetson’s Health Response Protocol. Any members of the Stetson community who have been to campus in the past 14 days and feel they may have come into direct contact with the virus causing COVID-19 — or are experiencing flu like symptoms (fever over 100.4, chills, cough, shortness of breath or difficulty breathing, fatigue muscle or body aches, headache, new loss of taste or smell, sore throat, congestion or runny nose, nausea or vomiting — should alert Stetson immediately. Fill out this online the Stetson University: COVID-19 Report a Health Concern form. During business hours, call Stetson Health Service at 386-822-8150. After business hours, call DeLand Public Safety at 386-822-7300, or College of Law Public Safety at 727-343-1262. If you are concerned about someone else’s exposure, also let us know — don’t just tell them to do so. This applies also to our College of Law students, faculty and staff.
What resources are available to me if I test positive?
Who should I notify if I receive a positive test result from a test provider other than Stetson?
What happens if someone shows symptoms of COVID and another infection (like Flu)?
COVID must be ruled out if someone shows symptoms. They will take a PCR test and isolate until results come back. According to DOH protocol, If someone tests positive for something like the flu, they should still be tested for COVID-19.
Have Questions or Concerns?
Questions about testing should be directed to [email protected]. For more information and specific answers to your questions, please consult the FAQ section below, the DeLand FAQs on the Stetson's Safer Campus website (see Isolation category), or the College of Law FAQs.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
I am fully vaccinated, but I live or work closely with someone who has recently tested positive for or was exposed to COVID-19. I do not have any symptoms. Do I need to isolate?
Fully vaccinated individuals who are asymptomatic do not have to isolate if exposed to someone positive, but they must fill out a reportit form to be entered into our tracking system. A member of the contact tracing team will call to advise testing 3-5 days after exposure and to wear masks in all public places for 14 days or until a negative test result, but will clear after the call.
If you develop symptoms of COVID-19, you should isolate for a period of 10 days from the onset of symptoms.
I am not vaccinated, and I live or work closely with someone who has recently tested positive for Covid-19. I do not have any symptoms. Do I need to isolate?
Unvaccinated individuals who are exposed to COVID-19 need to isolate for a period of 10 days from the last date of exposure, but can end isolation after 7 days with a negative Covid-19 PCR test taken on day 6 or after. This isolation is required even if asymptomatic.
I am not vaccinated, and I live or work closely with someone who has symptoms of COVID-19, but who has not taken a COVID test. I do not have any symptoms. Do I need to isolate?
Direct exposures are isolated only if exposed to someone who has tested positive, but these type of scenarios are reviewed on a case by case basis by the contact tracing team. Direct exposures to a symptomatic- test pending are usually not isolated until the test is confirmed positive.
I work in the same office as someone who has recently tested positive for COVID-19. I do not have any symptoms, and our desks are more than 6 feet apart. Do I need to isolate?
Fully vaccinated individuals do not need to isolate, but should monitor closely for development of symptoms. Unvaccinated individuals will need to isolate if they are determined to be a close contact, which means cumulative contact time of at least 15 minutes within 6’ of each other. Even if the desks are 6’ apart, parties may have other interactions at a closer distance that will qualify as close contact. If unvaccinated individuals do not qualify as a close contact that needs to isolate, they should still monitor closely for development of symptoms.
I am fully vaccinated, but I am exhibiting symptoms of COVID-19. Do I need to test and/or to isolate?
Yes. An individual can be infectious even if they are vaccinated. Anyone exhibiting symptoms should isolate and work with the contact tracer to determine when it is safe to move about campus or to end isolation. A negative viral test can be used to rule out that the symptoms are caused by COVID-19 infection and the need for isolation.
I am fully vaccinated and have no symptoms, but I recently tested positive for COVID-19. Do I need to isolate?
Yes. Anyone who tests positive for COVID-19 could be infectious, even if vaccinated. A COVID-positive individual should isolate and work with the contact tracer to determine when it is safe to move about campus or to end isolation.
- Volusia County COVID-19 Information
- City of DeLand COVID-19 Information
- Stetson University Health Service