The Department of Philosophy Pledge of Commitment to Racial Justice

The Philosophy Department at Stetson University stands with the American Philosophical Association’s condemnation of all forms of racism. We hereby adopt and embrace as our own, the APA’s official position on racism as this is expressed in the following statement:

The American Philosophical Association unequivocally condemns all forms of racist violence and white supremacy. We are pained and outraged at the countless incidents of police brutality and injustice toward Black people both recently and throughout the history of the United States, and we stand against the structural and institutional racism that enables these actions. The APA board of officers reaffirms our commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion in our discipline. As philosophers, scholars, teachers, and learners, we have a responsibility to work toward a better, more just society. The APA supports the Black Lives Matter movement in its demand for an immediate end to police brutality and the murder of Black people. The APA is committed to addressing the problem of anti-Blackness in the profession.

As well, our Department acknowledges and regrets the fact that our discipline of philosophy has not done all it can and should do to address racial, gender, and social inequity in our profession and commits to doing all we can to correct this in the following concrete actions:

  • We commit to a hiring policy that invites a diverse pool of applicants for faculty and staff positions;
  • We commit to following practices that counteract implicit biases we might feel toward our students and that may work against our stated aim of inclusion.
  • We commit to using texts by diverse authors and to including course topics and instructional methods that reflect our concern to be inclusive.

In acknowledgement that Black Lives Matter, signed by:

Melinda C. Hall, Chair and Associate Professor

David DiQuattro, Adjunct

Ronald Hall, Professor

Trig Johnson, Adjunct

Susan Peppers-Bates, Associate Professor

Joshua Rust, Professor