2012 Presidential Straw Poll results

Results are in from Wednesday’s Presidential Straw Poll – the first in 32 years at Stetson University! The Straw Poll was conducted from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. at the CUB front steps. DeLand-campus Stetson students were eligible to vote once in the Straw Poll. The results were as follows:

• Barack Obama: 214 votes (53.6%)
• Mitt Romney: 165 votes (41.4%)
• Write-Ins: 20 votes (5.0%)

The write-in candidates on the Straw Poll (and the number of votes each received) were: Gary Johnson (8), Steven Colbert (2), Jill Stein (1), Marco Rubio (1), Ralph Nader (1), Virgil Goode (1), Ron Swanson (1), Mickey Mouse (1), Paul Bunyon (1), myself (1), Communistic Party (1), Neither (1).

Thanks to all of the students who participated in this event. Don’t forget that early voting begins this Saturday, Oct 27, and continues to next Saturday, Nov 3 at the Supervisor of Elections Office in downtown DeLand (125 W New York Ave), open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Just bring a photo ID that has your signature and you’ll be able to cast your ballot in this year’s election! If you have any questions about voting in the election, contact Kevin Winchell at the Center for Community Engagement at kwinchel@stetson.edu.