Top advocate Natalie Yello named first Ms. JD Fellow from Stetson University

Stetson University College of Law third-year student Natalie Yello was awarded a fellowship by Ms. JD for 2016. The competitive fellowship was only awarded to 15 law students from around the country. Yello is the first Stetson student to receive the fellowship. Natalie Yello is a Ms. JD Fellow. This year’s Ms. JD Fellows were selected for their academic performance, leadership, and dedication to advancing… » Read more

Joshua Magidson J.D. ’80 honored with Barney Award

By Brandi Palmer Joshua Magidson J.D. ’80, a Stetson University trustee and past-president of the Stetson Lawyers Association who has chaired the board of overseers at the College of Law for the past eight years, was recently honored with The Barney by the Barney Masterson Inn of Court. Joshua Magidson. Every year, The Barney is awarded to a lawyer who demonstrates the highest degree of… » Read more

Stetson’s Moot Court wins multiple awards at national competitions

(L-R): Taylor Ryan and Correy Karbiener won the National Veterans Law Moot Court Competition. Stetson University College of Law’s Moot Court teams took home multiple awards this past weekend at national competitions. Stetson students Correy Karbiener and Taylor Ryan won the sixth annual National Veterans Law Moot Court Competition in Washington, D.C. It is the fourth time Stetson has won the competition. Two teams of… » Read more

Stetson Law students win Florida Bar YouTube Contest

(L-R): Elizabeth Harbaugh, Patrick Iyampillai, Daniel Kavanaugh and Colby Connell. The Harry Latimer Center for Professionalism and the Florida Bar Standing Committee on Professionalism selected four Stetson University College of Law students as the winners of the 2015 Law Student Professionalism YouTube Contest. Using the Florida Bar’s newly adopted Professionalism Expectations as their guide, students Colby Connell, Elizabeth Harbaugh, Patrick Iyampillai and Daniel Kavanaugh created,… » Read more

Stetson wins regional AAJ Student Trial Advocacy Competition

Stetson University College of Law’s trial team won the southeast regional of the American Association for Justice Student Trial Advocacy Competition in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. (L-R): Stanton Fears, Brooke Batton Charlan, Judge Gary Farmer Sr., Phylicia Pearson and Kyle Ross. Students Brooke Batton Charlan, Stanton Fears, Phylicia Pearson and Kyle Ross won the AAJ regional on March 22 and earned the right to compete in… » Read more

Stetson Law’s Hall of Fame inducts three alumni

Stetson University College of Law inducted three extraordinary alumni into its Hall of Fame on Nov. 1 in Gulfport. Hall of Fame inductees are selected for having a profound and positive impact on Stetson Law and the legal profession. This year’s inductees included: (L-R): Joshua Magidson accepting his Hall of Fame honor from Dean Chris Pietruszkiewicz. Joshua Magidson JD ’80 has served as president of… » Read more

Stetson wins Robert Merhige Jr. National Environmental Negotiation Competition

The Stetson University College of Law Alternative Dispute Resolution team won the Robert Merhige Jr. National Environmental Negotiation Competition at the University of Richmond Law School in Virginia, March 21-23. (L-R): Rachel Ellis and Charlyne Topiol. Stetson sent two teams of students. The Stetson team of Rachel Ellis and Charlyne Topiol beat 19 teams from across the country. The team of Amber Cain and Aimée… » Read more

Stetson students win National Voir Dire Tournament

Stetson University College of Law’s trial team of Ashley Goodman, Khalil Madani and Victoria San Pedro won the National Voir Dire Tournament on April 5 in Kansas City, Mo. The team also won the professionalism award in the competition. (L-R): University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law professor and advocacy director S. Rafe Foreman, Khalil Madani, Ashley Goodman, and Victoria San Pedro. Photo by University… » Read more

Stetson Law dean Christopher Pietruszkiewicz appointed to national, regional, state committees on legal education, professionalism and safety

Stetson University College of Law Dean Christopher M. Pietruszkiewicz has recently been appointed to five committees focused on legal education, professionalism and public safety at the national, state and regional levels. Dean Christopher M. Pietruszkiewicz. Dean Pietruszkiewicz was appointed to the Data Policy & Collection Committee of the ABA Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar, the Florida Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism,… » Read more

Students honored for best event by Florida Bar

Stetson University College of Law students were honored during the Florida Bar’s recent annual meeting on June 28 in Boca Raton, Fla. Stetson members of the Florida Bar Young Lawyers Division-Law Student Division received the “Best Event Award.” (L-R): Stetson students Angelika Zych, Anisha Patel, Jennifer Tindell and Frank Leung. Stetson was selected from among all Florida law schools for their “Balancing Law and Life”… » Read more