Jason Palmer

Professor Jason Palmer was the keynote speaker for the Shorecrest Cum Laude Society Induction Ceremony on Thursday, April 12. From the article posted in Shorecrest’s Ebytes newsletter – “At today’s assembly, Professor Palmer spoke about his own academic and career path; how he had entered law school determined to become a prosecutor – and how a summer work experience led to a change of direction… » Read more

Jason Palmer

Professor Jason Palmer has been appointed associate editor of the Scribes Journal of Legal Writing.… » Read more

Scott Bassett

Adjunct Professor Scott Bassett recently argued and won a case in the Michigan Supreme Court dealing with appellate jurisdiction in the issue of whether a trial court order affecting legal custody of a child is a custody order for the purposes of an appeal by right rather than by leave only.   … » Read more

Ellen Podgor

Professor Ellen Podgor has received the ABA Criminal Justice Section Raeder-Taslitz Award, to be presented at the awards luncheon during the CJS Fall Meeting in Washington, D.C., on Nov. 3. The Raeder-Taslitz Award, established in 2014, is given in memory of Myrna Raeder and Andrew Taslitz to a professor at an ABA-accredited law school who exemplifies ethical and professional conduct, demonstrates excellence in scholarship, teaching… » Read more

Luz Nagle

Professor Luz Nagle has recently accepted an invitation to be a trustee for the International Bar Association’s Human Rights Institute Charitable Trust for three years.  … » Read more

Tammy Briant

Tammy Briant recently presented at the AAUP National Conference meeting in Washington D.C. on “Exploration of past protest to inform current advocacy.”  She co-presented with University of Iowa Professor David McCartney.  … » Read more

Ciara Torres-Spelliscy

On March 4, 2017, Professor Torres-Spelliscy spoke at the Federalist Society’s 2017 National Student Symposium, on a panel called “Campaign Finance and Free Speech” at Columbia Law School.  The Moderator was Hon. Richard J. Sullivan, U.S. District Judge for the Southern District of New York. The other member of the panel were: Prof. Brad Smith, Josiah H. Blackmore II/Shirley M. Nault Professor of Law, Capital… » Read more

Scott Bassett

Scott Bassett, virtual family law practitioner and Stetson University College of Law adjunct professor, was named as one of 50 invite-only members of the second TBD Law conference in St. Louis on Feb. 26-28.… » Read more

Ciara Torres-Spelliscy

Professor Ciara Torres-Spelliscy was elected chair of the AALS Election Law Section in January, for a term beginning next year.  … » Read more

Christopher Pietruszkiewicz

Dean Pietruszkiewicz’s article, Conflating Standards of Review in the Tax Court: A Lesson in Ambiguity, 44 Hous. L. Rev. 1337, 1360 (2008), was recently cited by the 10th Circuit majority, and dissenting opinion, in the important and controversial decision of Bandimere v. SEC.… » Read more