Stetson Law accepting nominations for William Reece Smith Jr. award

Stetson University College of Law is accepting nominations for the prestigious William Reece Smith Jr. Public Service Award, which recognizes individuals who have provided outstanding service to the legal profession and community. This year’s award will be presented at the Annual Inns of Court Banquet and William Reece Smith Jr. Distinguished Lecture on Jan. 28, 2014.

Nominations must be received by close of business on Monday, Dec. 23. Nomination forms may be downloaded here or by contacting Patricia Toups at Completed nominations may be emailed to or mailed to Stetson University College of Law, Attention: Patricia Toups,  1401 61st St. S., Gulfport, Fla., 33707.

The annual award is named in honor of legendary Florida lawyer William Reece Smith Jr., who served for decades as a distinguished professorial lecturer at Stetson Law in Gulfport, Fla. Smith, who died earlier this year, dedicated more than 60 years of service to the legal profession. He worked tirelessly to provide legal services to the poor. Smith founded and served as the first president of Florida Legal Services, served as city attorney of Tampa, chair and trustee of numerous colleges and universities, interim president of the University of South Florida, and as board member of countless religious, charitable, civic and professional organizations.

Stetson established the William Reece Smith Jr. Award in 1990 to honor outstanding contributions to public service, the justice system and the community. William Reece Smith Jr., past president of the International, American, and Florida Bar Associations, was the award’s first recipient and its namesake.

Previous William Reece Smith Jr. award winners include John T. Berry, John P. Cunningham, John R. Blue, Denis deVlaming, Gregory K. Showers and Edwin Boyer.

For additional information, please contact Stetson Law’s Office of Development and Alumni Relations at 727-562-7818.