ABA President Honored by Law Review

Contact Brandi Palmer
Manager of Media Relations

ABA President Stephen Zack

ABA president Stephen Zack is this year's J. Ben Watkins Award recipient. Click for high-resolution image.

American Bar Association president Stephen Zack was honored at the annual Law Review banquet at Stetson University College of Law on Nov. 19 in Gulfport. Zack received the J. Ben Watkins Award for Excellence in the Legal Profession.

The Watkins Award is presented annually in honor of J. Ben Watkins, who was instrumental in founding the Stetson Law Review. Five members of the 1970 Stetson Law Review editorial board were also recognized at the event. “Good lawyers make a living. Great lawyers make a difference,” Zack said at the banquet.

Zack is the first Hispanic and Cuban-American president of the American Bar Association, elected in August 2010. As president of the ABA, Zack is working on a range of issues including improving access to justice and funding for the judiciary, increasing civic education in schools, improving Hispanic legal rights and responsibilities, and the ABA’s disaster preparedness plan.

Zack served as the first Hispanic-American and youngest president of the Florida Bar, founding member of the Cuban-American Bar Association, chair of the Florida Ethics Committee, and member of the 11th Circuit Judicial Nominating Committee for the Southern District.

This year, Hispanic Business Magazine included Zack on its list of the 100 Top Influential Hispanics, Florida Trend Magazine named him among Florida’s Legal Elite, and he is listed among the Law Dragon 500. The 2011 edition of The Best Lawyers in America lists him in the commercial litigation practice area. Zack is regularly recognized in the Super Lawyers section of the Miami Herald as a Top Florida Lawyer.

Zack is also a partner in the national law firm of Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP, with offices in Miami. His clients include former Vice President Al Gore in the trial of Bush v. Gore.

The Stetson Law Review is the college’s premier academic journal, published three times a year. Each issue addresses contemporary legal topics in a symposium format.