Stetson Law Invites Award Nominations

Contact Brandi Palmer
Manager of Media Relations

Stetson University College of Law invites nominations for the 2009 William Reece Smith Jr. Public Service Award, which recognizes individuals who have provided outstanding service to the legal profession and to the community. The deadline for nominations is Nov. 17.

The prestigious award will be presented by Stetson University College of Law during the annual Inns of Court Banquet and William Reece Smith Jr. Distinguished Lecture on Jan. 22.

Previous winners of this award include community leader Louie N. Adcock Jr., Tampa Safe and Free founder Rochelle Reback, First Step Inc. president Denis de Vlaming and St. Petersburg Bar Association president Jeannine S. Williams.

Stetson established the award in 1990 for William Reece Smith Jr., past president of the American, International and Florida bar associations. His relationship with Stetson began in the 1950s, and he has been a distinguished professorial lecturer at the law school since 1991. Smith was inducted into the Stetson University College of Law Hall of Fame in 2004.

The nomination form is available online at and submissions may be sent directly to Karen Griffin at Stetson’s Office of College Relations, 1401 61st St. S., Gulfport, Fla., 33707, via e-mail at, or by calling 727-562-7818.