Stetson Law presents awards to alumni and friends

Contact Aaron Reincheld
Communications Specialist

Gulfport, Fla. – Stetson University College of Law recently honored the commitment and dedication of several alumni and friends at its annual Stetson Lawyers Association Alumni Reception.

Dannel G. DeBerg ’82 received the Ben C. Willard Award for her distinguished humanitarian achievements that have benefited Florida citizens and people throughout the world. DeBerg works as a part of New Frontiers Health Force, a non-denominational missionary group that travels and provides aid to areas hit by natural disasters. She practices in the areas of medical malpractice and personal injury law.

Alexander M. Clem ’90 and Judge James D. Whittemore ’77 received Distinguished Alumnus Awards. Clem practices in the areas of nursing home negligence, personal injury and wrongful death, and he has been involved with legislative and tort reform issues. He is also the immediate past president of the Academy of Florida Trial Lawyers. Judge Whittemore, a member of the U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Florida since 2000, has presided over several important cases, including portions of the Terri Schiavo case.

John W. Staunton ’97 received the Paul M. May Meritorious Service Award for his continued support of the College of Law. Staunton is an active member of the state and national associations of elder law attorneys, and he has worked to support Stetson’s Center for Excellence in Elder Law.

Robert Biasotti ’96 and Robert “Robin” Doyle ’75 each received Outstanding Alumni Representative Awards. Biasotti is a shareholder in the St. Petersburg office of Carlton Fields P.A., and he recently worked with the firm to create a Diversity Fellowship Program for Stetson students. Doyle is a partner with the law firm of Quarles and Brady LLP. He recently completed a two-year term on the Stetson Lawyers Advisory Council and in the fall will join the College’s Board of Overseers.

Paul A. Turk Jr. ’79 was recognized with the President’s Award for his year-long service as president of the Stetson Lawyers Association. Turk was elected to the College of Law’s Board of Overseers.

John Dubrule, Judge Alexander L. Paskay and Professor Michael I. Swygert received Distinguished Service Awards for significant, meritorious and continuing contributions that have benefited Stetson Law. Dubrule is director of litigation at Gulfcoast Legal Services. Judge Paskay, chief bankruptcy judge emeritus for the U.S. Bankruptcy Court Middle District of Florida, has worked with Stetson students and served as chair of many Stetson seminars and symposia since 1974. Professor Swygert retired from Stetson in May after 25 years of service and is writing the official history of the College of Law.

The awards were presented June 23 at the 2005 annual meeting of The Florida Bar.