Congratulations–Workers’ Comp Moot Court Teams!!

Please join me in congratulating the members of Stetson’s two Workers’ Compensation moot court teams—Darnesha Carter, Brittany Cover, and Lauren Eliopoulos; and Lara McGuire, Nicole Santamaria, and Paige Lacy!  The teams participated in the E. Earle Zehmer Workers’ Compensation Moot Court Competition in Orlando on Sunday and Monday.

At this competition, teams have an opportunity to argue in front of judges from the First District Court of Appeal.  In a field of 22 teams from across the nation, the team of Darnesha, Brittany, and Paige won both their preliminary rounds.  The team of Lara, Nicole, and Paige advanced to the semifinal rounds before losing a very close round to Mississippi College.  Losing a close round is always hard, but the team won the best brief award!

And that is not it!  Nicole Santamaria won the NAWCJ (National Association of Workers’ Compensation Judges) Professionalism Award.  This is the first year that this award was given, and the judges select one advocate out of the forty-four advocates who argued in the preliminary rounds to win the award.  The judges consider a combination of ability, attitude towards others, and professionalism.  Congratulations, Nicole!!

Congratulations, Darnesha, Brittany, Lauren, Lara, Nicole, and Paige!!  And a very special thank you to Dean Allen and Jason Stearns for coaching the teams and for their continual support of all our Moot Court teams!

Professor Bowman