Congratulations to Participants in First-Year Appellate Advocacy Competition

Congratulations to the participants in, and the winners of, the Fall 2017 Phelps Dunbar First-Year Appellate Advocacy Competition!

The first-year appellate advocacy competition is the capstone event at the end of Stetson’s R&W II courses.  All R&W II students had completed an appellate brief and presented an oral argument, and the top six students were selected to participate in the competition.  The competition was Monday evening in the Wm. Reece Smith Jr. Courtroom, in the Tampa Law Center.

Please join me in congratulating ALL of these students for their hard work and extraordinary performances.


Best Oralist:                      Kaitlin Treadaway
Runner-up Best Oralist:  Heather Frymark

Participants and Round Winners:

Round 1:              Teresa Monfils v. Kaitlin Treadaway (winner)
Round 2:             Randy Shasteen (winner) v. Caleb Suszko
Round 3:              Heather Frymark (winner) v. Alejandro Mendez

We would like to thank Phelps Dunbar for sponsoring the competition again this year!  We are extremely grateful for Phelps Dunbar’s continual support over all these years. A very special thank you goes out to the attorneys from Phelps Dunbar who served as judges:  Caroline Catchpole, Rhett Parker, Gregory Pierson, Scott Terry (who also served as the Chief Judge), and Mallory Thomas.

Congratulations to the participants and thank you to Phelps Dunbar and our judges.

Happy Thanksgiving!
Professor Bowman