Webinar: 2019 Fundamentals of Special Needs Trusts Administration - Speakers

Megan Brand
Megan Brand is the Executive Director of CFPD-Colorado Fund for People with Disabilities. Megan began her service at CFPD in 2003 and has been the Executive Director since 2010. Megan has a bachelor’s degree in social work from the College of St. Benedict over 20 years of experience in working with people with disabilities, their families, service providers, attorneys, trustees, financial planners, guardians and other professionals. She leads a staff of 27 in administering the largest and longest-standing locally managed pooled trust in Colorado, as well as providing myriad of other services that offer protection, personalized attention, access to our network of organizations and services, and financial and benefit’s guidance. In addition to leading the staff, Megan is a former board member of the Colorado Guardianship Association and currently serves on the board for the National Planned Lifetime Assistance Network and Community Living Alternatives and is a frequent presenter in the community, both locally and nationally, on Special Needs Trusts and related topics.

Edwin M. Boyer
Edwin M. Boyer is a Florida Bar board-certified elder law attorney. He has practiced law in Sarasota, Florida, since 1978. He received his J.D. degree in 1978 from Stetson University College of Law. He is the past president of the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys, a fellow in the Academy, and a member of the Council of Advanced Practitioners of the Academy. In 2004, he received the NAELA President's Recognition Award for extraordinary contributions to NAELA. Professor Boyer practices in the area of elder law with an emphasis on guardianship, estate planning and administration, advance directives, end-of-life issues, nursing home residents' rights, and elder exploitation. He is a co-author of the book Planning for the Elderly in Florida. He served as the Borchard Distinguished Professorial Lecturer in Elder Law in the Fall 2012 semester.

Genesis Smith
Genesis Smith joined Raymond James Trust, N.A. as an Associate Trust Officer in January of 2017. She is responsible for the administration of a broad range of trust accounts, wherein RJT serves in a number of different capacities, including Agent, Custodian, and Co-Trustee. However, her primary focus is on the administration of special needs trusts. Genesis is a graduate of the University of South Florida (2011) with a Bachelor's degree in international studies. In 2016, Genesis received her Juris Doctorate from Stetson University College of Law in Gulfport, Florida. Genesis resides in Temple Terrace with her husband, Greg, and their puppy, Gigi.

Jennifer L. VanderVeen
Jennifer is certified as an Elder Law Attorney by the National Elder Law Foundation. She graduated from Albion College in 1996 and received her J.D. from the University of Michigan in 1999. Jennifer is a member of both the Indiana and Michigan state bars, and is a past chairperson of the Indiana Elder Law section and current President-Elect of National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys.

Roberta Flowers
Roberta K. Flowers is a professor of law, director of the Center for Excellence in Elder Law at Stetson University College of Law, and director of Stetson's online LL.M. in Elder Law. She has lectured worldwide on the topic of ethics. She won a Telly Award for Excellence in Educational Films for having produced a series of educational videos on the ethical issues faced by prosecuting attorneys. Along with Professor Rebecca Morgan, she created a video series used to train and educate attorneys nationwide on the ethical dilemmas faced by elder law attorneys. The Florida Supreme Court awarded Professor Morgan and Professor Flowers the Florida Supreme Court Professionalism Award for their video productions. Additionally, with Professor Morgan, Professor Flowers designed the nation's first "elder friendly courtroom," which serves as model for courtrooms of the future. She and Professor Rebecca Morgan co-authored Ethics in an Elder Law Practice, published by the ABA. Professor Flowers currently serves on the board of directors of the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys.