Facilitator Awards

Stetson created the Facilitator Award for educators who embody the values and principles articulated by professor Peter Lake and Robert Bickel in their book The Rights and Responsibilities of the Modern University. The Facilitator Model urges educators to be proactive about safety and risk-management and to develop organization environments that are reasonably safe, educationally relevant, and developmentally sound.

2010 Facilitator Awards

Beverly E. Ledbetter

Beverly Ledbetter(1)

Beverley E. Ledbetter is vice president and general counsel for Brown University. Prior to Brown University, she was legal counsel for the University of Oklahoma and an adjunct professor at the University of Oklahoma College of Law and at the Center for Higher Education, College of Education. She is on the faculty of the management development program at Harvard University and has been an adjunct professor at Harvard. Ledbetter received a bachelor's degree from Howard University and a law degree from the University of Colorado. She lectures frequently on higher education issues including employment, civil rights, sexual and racial harassment, and federal regulatory compliance and is regarded as an expert in the field of higher education law.

A past president of the National Association of College and University Attorneys, and a former member of the NCAA Infractions Committee, she is a member of the International Advisory Council of the Center for Excellence in Higher Education Law and Policy of Stetson University College of Law, and is a faculty member of the HERS Programs at Wellesley and Bryn Mawr, the WACUBO Business management Institute at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and the College of Business Management Institute at the University of Kentucky. She is a former member of the Review Group of the Higher Education Center for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse and Violence Prevention, and of the U.S. Department of Education. She also served as chairman of the Rhode Island Rhodes Scholarship Selection Committee.

Awards received include an honorary degree of Doctor of Laws from Roger Williams University School of Law, the Order of the COIF award from the University of Colorado Law School, the Minority Counsel Award from the American Bar Association, the Distinguished Service Award from the National Association of College and University Attorneys, and the Thomas S. Biggs, Jr. Award for professional leadership from Stetson University College of Law. She is also the recipient of the Education Leadership Award from the Urban League of Rhode Island, YWCA Outstanding Woman in Business and the Professions, the Paris Vaughan Sterrett for Exemplary Leadership Award from the John Hope Settlement House, and the Rosa Parks Award from the Providence Chapter of the NAACP.

2009 Facilitator Awards

Thomas Workman


Thomas Workman is an associate professor of communication studies and and co-director for the Center for Public Deliberation at the University of Houston - Downtown. He is an associate with the Baylor University College of Medicine Center for Collaborative and Interactive Technologies. He is chair-elect of the Alcohol and Other Drug Knowledge Community for the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators, and is a member of the International Advisory Council for the Center for Excellence in Higher Education Law and Policy at Stetson. He is on the editorial boards of Health Communication and Communication Quarterly, and is co-editor of NASPA's AOD section for NetResults, an online journal.

Read Press Release


2008 Facilitator Award Inaugural Honorees

Kevin P. Jackson


Dr. Jerry M. Lewis, accepted the Facilitator Award on behalf of the May 4, 1970 Faculty Marshals. He is an emeritus professor of sociology at Kent State University. He joined Kent State faculty in 1966 as an assistant professor of sociology. He earned his bachelor's degree from Cornell College in Iowa, his master's degree from Boston University, and his Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Illinois, Champaign/Urbana. His research areas include collective behavior, sociology of sport and the sociology of teaching. He has done research on crowd behavior in the United States, England and Belgium. Dr. Lewis has received several awards for teaching including Kent State University's Distinguished Teaching Award and the Kent State President's Medal. In May 1970, he served as a faculty marshal during the demonstrations at Kent State University.

Read Press Release