Quick Links

Share Article:

Nominations: McEniry Teaching Award

McEniry-HarryPriceThe Faculty Senate of Stetson University invites each student and faculty member to nominate a Stetson professor for Stetson University’s highest teaching award, the William Hugh McEniry Award for Excellence in Teaching. All full-time teaching faculty members on the DeLand Campus are eligible, with the exception of the following recent recipients:  Dr. Harry Price, Dr. Terry Farrell, Dr. Camille King, Dr. Noel Painter and Dr. Michael King.

The McEniry Award for Excellence in Teaching is considered Stetson’s most prestigious award for faculty. The criteria for selection include excellence in classroom teaching, professional growth and competency, intellectual stimulation given to the academic community outside the classroom, and service to students and the university as a whole.

“This award serves to recognize a faculty’s impact not only from an educational perspective, but also from a humanistic mentoring and inspirational perspective,” said Harry Price, Ph.D., associate professor of chemistry, the 2013 McEniry Award recipient.

“I believe education is as important as personal freedom,” said Price in an interview with Stetson University magazine after being presented with this award. “I decided to become a college professor so that I could pass on my love of learning, my love of science, and my knowledge and insights to my students just as my professors had done for me. Teaching for me is my way of giving back, my way of changing a life for the better.”

Stetson students and faculty are encouraged to take time to select the professor who has most impacted the nominator, changing his/her life for the better. Final selection will be made by the 2014 McEniry Nomination Committee. The winner will be announced during the Spring Commencement. The nomination form is online. The deadline for nominations is noon, Friday, April 11, 2014.