Quick Links

Share Article:

Law students win Moot Court Competition

Gulfport campus 2013Stetson University College of Law students Kayla Cash, Paul Crochet and Tyler Egbert won the 2013 E. Earle Zehmer National Workers’ Compensation Moot Court Competition on Aug. 19 in Orlando.

Stetson’s moot court team, coached by Associate Dean and Professor of Law Michael Allen and alumnus Jason Stearns, argued in the final round of the competition before sitting judges from Florida’s First District Court of Appeal. The national competition takes place annually in conjunction with the Florida Workers’ Compensation conference. Teams from Florida, Mississippi, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas and Virginia competed this year, arguing in front of judges who are experts in workers’ compensation.

“It is incredible for our students to have an opportunity to present before the judges who hear workers’ compensation cases,” said Professor of Legal Skills and Moot Court Advisor Brooke J. Bowman. “We are very proud that our students have demonstrated their skills as top advocates in this national competition.”

The winning team is pictured below, (L-R): Paul Crochet, Judge T. Kent Wetherell II, Kayla Cash, Judge Scott D. Makar, Tyler Egbert and Judge Timothy Osterhaus. Photo courtesy Michael Crochet.

To learn more about advocacy at Stetson, visit www.law.stetson.edu/advocacy. Law National Moot Court team