Quick Links

Share Article:

Stetson employees honored for service

QOS 2013Faculty and staff at Stetson University were honored by the Quality of Service Council during its annual Employee Recognition Celebration. The annual event recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves by contributing positively to the Stetson community in 10 categories.  This year’s recipients are:

  • Adapter of the Year – A flexible individual who adjusts quickly and readily to changes within the department due to evolving technology, new schedules, or other job responsibilities: Sharon Fischer  (Office of Finance)
  • Communicator of the Year – An individual who is able to convey information in such a clear manner that it is satisfactorily received by all segments of the Stetson community: Brenda Taylor (Student Health Service)
  • Extra Mile – An individual who goes beyond their job description to help others when needed without complaint or expectation: Amy Ammon (Facilities Management)
  • Mentor of the Year – An admired individual, who has supported, guided and encouraged others with their careers at Stetson: Robin Kazmarek (Career Development)
  • Money Saver of the Year – An individual who has effectively reduced costs for his/her department or the university: Valinda Wimer (Purchasing)
  • Morale Builder of the Year – A positive individual who consistently boosts the spirits of others with friendliness, enthusiasm and encouragement: Bonifacio Santiago (Facilities Management)
  • P.A.R Award – An individual who embodies the three characteristics of this award — Professionalism, Attitude and Reliability: Cathy Burke (Department of Modern Languages and Literatures)
  • Problem Solver of the Year – A solution finder; the co-worker people call when something goes wrong, or when they have a question or situation for which they don’t have an answer: Jennifer Hilderbrandt (Department of History)
  • Volunteer of the Year – An individual whose passion and actions exemplify commitment to service of others: Kevin Winchell (Center for Community Engagement)
  • Spirit of Stetson – Chosen by council as the one employee that represents Stetson: Katherine Leitch (Office of Academic Affairs)

Founded between 1988 and 1989, the Quality of Service Council was created to evaluate the effects of employees serving at the “front line” of the university.  By recognizing the dedication, time and effort of staff members of the Stetson community, the council demonstrates appreciation for their valuable efforts.

by Maurie Murray