Stetson seeks nominations for awards

March 26, 2013


Four annual awards and honors will be presented at the end of the year and who receives them may depend on you. It’s time to nominate your favorite teacher or colleague, fellow students or even yourself  for one of the distinguished honors listed below. For more information on these and other awards, stay current with Stetson Today.

William Hugh McEniry Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Faculty Senate of Stetson University invites each student and faculty member to nominate a Stetson professor for Stetson University’s highest teaching award, the William Hugh McEniry Award for Excellence in Teaching. All full-time teaching faculty members on the DeLand Campus are eligible, with the exception of the following recent recipients:  Dr. Terry Farrell, Dr. Camille King, Dr. Noel Painter, Dr. Michael King and Dr. Eugene Huskey.

The criteria for selection include excellence in classroom teaching, professional growth, intellectual stimulation given to the academic community outside the classroom, and service to students and the university as a whole.

“This award serves to recognize a faculty’s impact not only from an educational perspective, but also from a humanistic mentoring and inspirational perspective,” said Associate Professor of Chemistry Harry Price, member of the nomination committee.

Final selection will be made by a secret 2013 McEniry Nomination Committee. The winner will be announced during the Spring Commencement. The nomination form is online. The deadline for nominations is 8 a.m. Monday, April 8, 2013. 

Josephine Field Davidson Award for Integrity in Journalism

Any current Stetson students who have published journalism on any topic, in any medium, including online or in The Reporter, are eligible to win $500 in the annual Davidson Award for Integrity in Journalism.

Stetson faculty and editors at The Daytona Beach News-Journal will select a winner based on which submission best exemplifies the integrity, accuracy, clarity, and unselfish concern for others personified by the late Josephine Field Davidson, editor of The Daytona Beach News-Journal. (The award was established by Stetson alumni Bill and Sally Gillespie along with donations by friends, family and colleagues of the late editor of the News-Journal.) 

To enter:

Haven’t been published yet? Contact the staff of The Reporter ( to find out about contributing, and/or take JOUR 100 this fall to start learning about journalism.

Gender Studies Program’s Annual Ann Morris Essay and Creative Writing Contest 

The 2013 Gender Studies Program’s Annual Ann Morris Essay and Creative Writing Contest, with $500 in prizes to be awarded for Fiction, Poetry, Drama, Essays, Research, and Creative Non-fiction.  Deadline for submission is 3 p.m. on Monday, April 1.  Submit entries to Dr. Diane Everett, 221 Davis Hall.  Winners to be announced at the Annual Gender Studies Reception on April 18.

Contest Rules:

Nominate senior speakers for commencement ceremonies 

For this year’s commencement ceremonies, three senior speakers will be chosen: one from the College of Arts and Sciences, one from the School of Music and one from the School of Business Administration. Senior Speakers typically are students with a solid academic record who have made significant contributions to the Stetson community through leadership and co-curricular involvement. They represent students who have fully engaged in the educational experience while at Stetson. The information provided within the nomination will be used to select 18 semifinalists (six from College of Arts and Sciences, six from School of Business, six from School of Music). The semifinalists for Senior Speaker will be notified and asked to submit an application which includes a description of the topic and a brief outline of their remarks. Nine finalists will be chosen to present their proposed speeches to a committee of faculty, staff and students for selection. It is acceptable for students to nominate themselves for Senior Commencement Speaker. Deadline for submission is Wednesday, April 10. Please use the following link to make your nomination:


Share Article: