Skip to Content
Group of men standing, one holding balloons

Employee Recognition Awards

Spirit of Stetson Award

Do you know someone who exhibits the spirit of Stetson? Maybe it's someone who does something remarkable or someone who dedicates themselves every day to a job well done. If this is the case, nominate them for the new Quality of Service Spirit of Stetson Award!

The winners of this new monthly award will receive a gift certificate, be recognized by coworkers, and be featured on the Quality of Service website as well as in the Human Resources Newsletter. Everyone nominated for this award throughout the year will be entered into the Spirit of Stetson category at the 2018 Employee Recognition Awards.

If you would like to recognize a co-worker, you can do so by using the Spirit of Stetson form.

Employee Recognition Awards

The Quality of Service Council annually recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves amongst the Stetson community within the following categories.

The award selection process is based on the content of the written nomination and applicability to the specific award definition--not on the number of nominations an employee receives in any given category. We want to know what makes your nominee special. Please share with us why this person is deserving of the award by giving examples or stories that show why they are worthy. All information is considered CONFIDENTIAL and will not be accessible to anyone other than council members, although quotes may be used during presentation of awards to winners. Following the announcement, all original nominations will be filed with Human Resources.

Award Categories

Adapter of the Year

A flexible individual who adjusts quickly and readily to changes within the department due to evolving technology, new schedules or other job responsibilities.

Communicator of the Year

An individual who is able to convey information in such a clear manner that it is satisfactorily received by all segments of the Stetson University community.

Mentor of the Year

An admired individual who has supported, guided and encouraged others in their careers at Stetson University.

Money Saver of the Year

An individual who has effectively reduced costs for his/her department or the university.

Morale Builder of the Year

A positive individual who consistently boosts the spirits of others with friendliness, enthusiasm and encouragement.

Problem Solver of the Year

A solution finder; the co-worker people call when something goes wrong, or when they have a question or situation for which they don't have an answer.

P.A.R. Award

An individual who embodies the three characteristics of this award: professionalism, attitude and reliability.

Volunteer of the Year

An individual whose passion and actions exemplify a commitment to the service of others.

Extra Mile Award

An individual who goes beyond their job description to help others when needed without complaint or expectation.

Spirit of Stetson

The person who embodies the true spirit of Stetson University every day and who has traits of several of the award categories. This person is a representation of Stetson University's core values. The winner is selected by the Council from the entire list of nominees.

Stetson Employee of the Year

More details coming soon!

Deadline for Nominations

Now is the time to submit your nominations for the Annual Employee Recognition Awards! Winners will be announced at the Employee Recognition event held in April. Each award recipient will receive a plaque and a check for one hundred dollars. Show your appreciation and nominate a deserving colleague or co-worker.

Any full-time active or regular part-time employee of Stetson University may be considered for nomination of an employee recognition award.

Deadline for all nominations is March 30th, 2018. Those who submit a nomination will be entered for a chance to win one of two special gifts valued at $50 that will be given away at the award ceremony. One entry will be given for each Award Category in which you nominate someone.

Nominate Here


Email Quality of Service Directly at

Previous Winners

Please Note: The following employees have received awards within the past three years or are currently on the Quality of Service Council and are ineligible to be nominated this year.

2016-2017 Winners

  • Caroline Skinner
  • Cecil Chik
  • April Atkinson
  • Travis Potter
  • Kendrial Wilson
  • Treasa McDonald
  • Rick Tysor
  • Dawn Bass
  • Jeanne Peterson
  • Jimmy Franklin

Read more about our winners

2015-2016 Winners

  • Al Allen
  • Albert Aguirre
  • Maria Marrero
  • Dr. James Mallet
  • Jimmy Kelly
  • Kim Oates
  • Debbie Hines
  • Robert Berwick
  • Savannah-Jane Griffin
  • Colin McFarlane

2014-2015 Winners

  • Sandy Aubrey
  • Marj Burrhus
  • Kim Canup
  • Tonya Curran
  • Robert Hanks
  • Nora Huth
  • Amy McAfoos-Schaefer
  • Melissa Peters
  • Trena Wetherington