Stetson Law students win international advocacy awards in Austria

Stetson University College of Law students Paul Crochet, Meagan Foley and Alexander Zesch all received Honorable Mention Best Oral Advocate Awards at the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot in Vienna, Austria. The Stetson students were among a group of 40 advocates selected for the awards. More than 1800 students from 67 countries competed.

Stetson's Vis team (L-R): Mike Rothfeldt, Paul Crochet, Meagan Foley, Alex Zesch and Lisa Tanaka.

Stetson’s Vis team (L-R): Michael Rothfeldt, Paul Crochet, Meagan Foley, Alex Zesch and Lisa Tanaka.

Stetson’s team of Crochet, Foley, Michael Rothfeldt, Lisa Tanaka and Zesch competed against students from Australia, Brazil, Bulgaria, China, Germany, the Netherlands, United Arab Emirates and the United States during the five-day competition, March 23-28, in Vienna.

The Vis Moot was started by the United Nations Trade Commission 20 years ago as a global educational initiative in international commercial law and dispute resolution.

This year, 296 teams from around the world competed. Forty-nine of the teams competing this year in Vienna were from highly ranked U.S. law schools.

The Stetson team was one of only two U.S. law schools to advance to finish in the quarterfinals of the competition. City University of Hong Kong won first place overall.

Professors Joseph Morrissey and Interim Director for International Programs Stephanie Vaughan coached the Stetson students.

Stetson won the Frédéric Eisemann Award and the overall Vis Moot competition in 2005.

Stetson’s Center for Excellence in International Law is the nexus of international advocacy at Stetson, housing academic programs, the Institute for Biodiversity Law and Policy and the Institute for Caribbean Law and Policy, hosting international advocacy competitions and offering study abroad opportunities around the world.

To learn more about international programs at Stetson, visit To learn more about advocacy at Stetson, visit the Center for Excellence in Advocacy at