Home » News » Stetson Law inducts six into Hall of Fame

Stetson Law inducts six into Hall of Fame

Stetson University College of Law inducted six new members into its Hall of Fame on Oct. 27 in Gulfport. Hall of Fame inductees are selected for having a profound and positive impact on Stetson Law and the legal profession.

» View photos from the Hall of Fame on Flickr

This year’s inductees include:

Professor Suzanne Armstrong

Professor Suzanne Armstrong

Professor Suzanne R. Armstrong

Professor Suzanne R. Armstrong was an influential member of the Legal Research and Writing faculty who played an instrumental role in bringing computer technology to the law school. Professor Armstrong died in 1990 after a long battle with cancer. After her death, Stetson established an annual writing award in her name.

» View video of Suzanne Armstrong



Denis DeVlaming

Denis DeVlaming

Denis M. deVlaming ’72

Denis M. deVlaming served as president of several legal organizations including the Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Pinellas County Criminal Defense Lawyers Association, Pinellas County Trial Lawyers Association and the Clearwater Bar Association. He teaches Advanced Criminal Trial Advocacy as an adjunct professor at Stetson and is a past recipient of Stetson’s William Reece Smith Jr. Award for Professionalism. DeVlaming has also been an adjunct professor at the University of South Florida and a guest lecturer at St. Petersburg College.

» View video of Denis deVlaming


John Guyton

John Guyton

John A. Guyton Jr. ’59

John A. Guyton Jr. had a positive impact on Stetson University as a long-serving member of the law school’s board of overseers. His fundraising support helped create many student scholarships and increased the law school’s financial security. Guyton was a member of the Florida Bar for more than 50 years.

» View video of John Guyton



Dean Thomas Lambert

Dean Thomas Lambert

Dean Thomas F. Lambert Jr.

In 1941, former Stetson University College of Law Dean Thomas F. Lambert Jr. was the youngest law school dean in the United States at the age of 26, and among the best educated with degrees from Yale, Oxford and UCLA. At the height of World War II, Lambert enrolled in the military and went on to become a prosecutor at the Nuremberg war crimes trials. After the Nuremberg trials, Lambert taught law at Suffolk University and Boston University. Lambert served for 40 years as the editor-in-chief of the NACCA Law Journal, which later became the Journal of the American Trial Lawyers Association.

» View video of Thomas Lambert


Mada Fraser McLendon

Mada Fraser McLendon

Mada Fraser McLendon ’32

In 1938, Mada Fraser McLendon became Florida’s third female judge. After 10 years on the bench, she stepped down to resume her law practice until 1979. In 1989, she was awarded the Stetson Lawyers Association Ben C. Willard Memorial Award for her outstanding service to the legal profession. She was very active in her Lake Wales community, winning numerous civic awards.

» View video of Mada Fraser McLendon



Judge James D. Whittemore

Judge James Whittemore

James D. Whittemore ’77

U.S. District Judge James D. Whittemore was nominated by former President Clinton in 1999, unanimously confirmed by the U.S. Senate, and has served in the Tampa division of the Middle District of Florida since May 2000. While in private practice in 1985, Whittemore successfully argued before the U.S. Supreme Court that a defendant’s silence following a Miranda warning could not be used at trial to discredit an insanity defense.