Stetson Lawyers Association presents awards to alumni and friends

The Stetson Lawyers Association presented awards to alumni and friends on June 21. Stetson University College of Law Interim Dean Royal C. Gardner introduced the new dean of Stetson Law, Christopher Pietruszkiewicz, at an evening reception during the annual Florida Bar meeting in Orlando. Visit Flickr to view photos>>

Associate Dean John Cooper, who leads Stetson Law’s international and cooperative programs, was presented with the Distinguished Service Award for his significant, meritorious and continuing contributions to the College of Law. Associate Dean Cooper, who joined the Stetson Law faculty in 1985, established study abroad programs for students in Asia, South America and Europe.

The Honorable Frederick B. Karl ’49 received a Distinguished Alumni Award, which is presented to individuals who exemplify service to the College of Law and to the legal profession. Karl, a veteran of the U.S. Army and recipient of the Silver Star, Bronze Star and Purple Heart, dedicated his entire adult life to public service, serving in roles including state senator and representative, Florida’s first public counsel, and justice of the Florida Supreme Court.

Professor Rebecca Morgan ’80, the Boston Asset Management Faculty Chair in Elder Law, director of Stetson’s Center for Excellence in Elder Law, and director of Stetson’s online LL.M. in Elder Law, also received a Distinguished Alumni Award. Morgan serves as a special adviser to the American Bar Association Commission on Law and Aging, and has been recognized with numerous awards, including the 2003 Faculty Award on Professionalism from the Florida Supreme Court.

Board of Overseers member William Weller ’04 received the Paul M. May Meritorious Service Award in recognition of his continued support of the College of Law and its alumni association through time and gifts. Weller served as the College of Law’s executive director of operations, revising the campus master plan and overseeing design and construction.

Amy Rigdon BA ’05, JD ’08 received the Outstanding Alumni Representative Award for her dedication and service to the Stetson Lawyers Association. Rigdon is a member of the Holland & Knight law firm’s Orlando Diversity Committee, the Orange County Bar, the ABA Young Lawyers Division and the Central Florida Association for Women Lawyers. She is the Ninth Circuit representative to the Florida Bar’s Young Lawyers Division Board of Governors and a member of the Stetson Lawyers Association Advisory Council.

Judge Anthony Johnson ’80 received the Ben C. Willard Award, presented annually to alumni whose humanitarian achievements bring distinction to themselves and to the College of Law. Judge Johnson served as an Orange County judge for three decades and was a U.S. Navy officer. He founded the Legal Assistance for Warriors project to provide free legal services to active-duty military personnel deployed to hostile-fire zones.

Stetson Lawyers Association outgoing president Clinton Paris JD ’00 presented the awards to alumni and friends. Paris also introduced incoming Stetson Lawyers Association President Jenay Iurato JD/MBA ’00.