Stetson Law Moot Court Wins Best Brief

Contact Brandi Palmer
Manager of Media Relations

Stetson Moot Court Win Best Brief

(L-R): Stetson alumnus and coach Larry Miccolis, team leader Tony Thomas, Greg Ludtka, Sandra Harrell and Derrick Clarke. Click for high-resolution image.

Stetson University College of Law’s Moot Court team won the Best Brief award at the Navy JAG Corps 2010 National Moot Court Competition Oct. 28-30 at the Naval Air Station Jacksonville. A team from the University of Michigan won the overall competition.

Stetson students Derrick Clarke, Sandra Harrell, Greg Ludtka and team leader Tony Thomas competed along with 19 teams from law schools around the nation. Stetson alumnus Larry Miccolis coached the Stetson team that won the Best Brief.

“Moot court competitions involve both a written and oral component, and to bring home the top award for the written submission is amazing,” said Professor Brooke Bowman, Moot Court Advisor.

Stetson’s Moot Court won the Veterans Law Appellate Advocacy Competition in Washington, D.C., for the second year in a row on Oct. 17. Earlier this year, Stetson’s Moot Court won the E. Earle Zehmer Workers’ Compensation Moot Court Competition in August and the Robert Orseck Memorial Moot Court Competition in June.