Accepting Nominations for Public Service Award

Contact Frank Klim
Executive Director of Communications

Stetson University College of Law is accepting nominations for the 2010 William Reece Smith Jr. Public Service Award, which recognizes individuals who have provided outstanding service to the legal profession and to the community. The deadline for nominations for this year’s prestigious award is Oct. 9.

Nominations are not limited to members of the Stetson Law community, and are open to anyone who has made an outstanding positive impact through public service.

Stetson Law will present this year’s winner during the annual Inns of Court Banquet and William Reece Smith Jr. Distinguished Lecture  on Jan. 25, 2010.

Previous honorees include community leader Louie N. Adcock Jr., Tampa Safe and Free founder Rochelle Reback, First Step Inc. President Denis de Vlaming and former St. Petersburg Bar Association president Jeannine S. Williams.

Stetson established the award in 1990 for William Reece Smith Jr., past president of the International, American and Florida Bar Associations. His relationship with Stetson began in the 1950s, and he has been a distinguished professorial lecturer at the law school since 1991. Smith was inducted into the Stetson University College of Law Hall of Fame in 2004.

The nomination form is available online at and submissions may be sent to Karen Griffin in Stetson’s Office of College Relations, 1401 61st St. S., Gulfport, Fla., 33707, via e-mail at, or by calling 727-562-7818.