Moot Court Wins First and Second Place

Contact Brandi Palmer
Manager of Media Relations


Moot Court Wins 1st and 2nd Place

(L-R): Moot Court Advisor Professor Stephanie Vaughan, student Kristen Chittenden, team coaches Professor Michael Allen, Nancy Meyer, Jennifer Kennedy, students Brice Zoecklein, Joseph Herbert, Amie Patty, Derrick Connell and Pamela Vergara. Click for high-resolution image.

Stetson University College of Law began the academic year by winning first and second place in the E. Earle Zehmer Workers’ Compensation Moot Court Competition in Orlando, Fla., Aug. 16-17.

Two teams of Stetson students advanced to compete against each other in the final round, beating a dozen teams from other law schools around the country. This is the second consecutive year that Stetson Law has won the competition, sponsored by the Workers Compensation Section of the Florida Bar. The winning Stetson team of Derrick Connell, Amie Patty and brief writer Pamela Vergara narrowly defeated the Stetson team of Joseph Herbert, Brice Zoecklein and brief writer Kristen Chittenden, who came in second place. Fourteen teams competed.

“The teams argued brilliantly in the final round before three judges from the Florida 1st District Court of Appeal,” said Professor Stephanie Vaughan, moot court advisor. “We could never ask for more in a competition.”

Stetson Law Professor Michael Allen coached the first-place team of Connell, Patty and Vergara, and moot court alumnae Jennifer Card Kennedy and Nancy Slack Meyer of Abbey Adams in St. Petersburg, Fla., coached the second-place team of Herbert, Zoecklein and Chittenden.