LSU Wins National Pretrial Competition

Contact Brandi Palmer
Manager of Media Relations

On Oct. 4, a team from Louisiana State University’s Paul M. Hebert Law Center won first place at the inaugural National Pretrial Competition, co-sponsored by Stetson University College of Law and The Florida Bar Young Lawyers Division.

LSU’s award-winning team of law students Megan Donohue, LaToya Jordan, Adam Savoie and Celeste White were coached by Professor Todd Bruno, a graduate of Stetson’s 2008 Teaching Advocacy Skills Program.

“The National Pretrial Competition is the first competition of its kind, designed to engage students from other law schools in the award-winning Stetson method of advocacy,” said Professor Charles Rose, director of Stetson Law’s Center for Excellence in Advocacy.

The pretrial competition, created by Stetson Law Dean Darby Dickerson to prepare students to be ethical and professional advocates, brought together eight teams of 32 students from law schools across the nation.

Other schools competing included Baylor Law School, Faulkner University’s Thomas Goode Jones School of Law, Florida Coastal School of Law, Mississippi College School of Law, Regent University School of Law, and South Texas College of Law.

Stetson Law’s advocacy center promotes skills training with a three-tiered approach of teaching, scholarship and research at the pretrial, trial and appellate levels.

The 2009 U.S. News & World Report national rankings place Stetson among the nation’s top 100 law schools, first in trial advocacy and sixth for legal writing.