William Reece Smith Jr. Public Service Award winners honored May 12

Contact Brandi Palmer
Communications Specialist

Gulfport, Fla. – This year’s winners of the William Reece Smith Jr. Public Service Award were honored during a ceremony at 4:30 p.m. on May 12 in the Great Hall at Stetson University College of Law in Gulfport. The award honored outstanding contributions to public service, the justice system and the community.

This year’s awards were presented to Louie N. Adcock, Jr. and Murray B. Silverstein.

    • Adcock has been president, chair or director of more than 15 community service organizations during the nearly five decades that he has been a lawyer. He presently works as trustee with the All Children’s Hospital Foundation and is on the board of the All Children’s Health System and Bay Area Legal Services. He has contributed to the legal community as St. Petersburg Bar president 1977-1978; Executive Committee, Board of Governors 1983-1985; convention chairman, The Florida Bar Annual Meeting 1984; candidate for president of The Florida Bar; chair of the Real Property, Probate and Trust Law Section, 1992-1993 and president of The Florida Bar Foundation 1990-1991.


  • Silverstein is currently president of the Community Law Program, Inc., an organization providing pro bono legal services, and is on the executive committee of the All Children’s Hospital Development Council. He has published numerous articles in the local press about the indigent health care tax and consumer information for healthcare, and has prosecuted consumer fraud cases. Silverstein has served on the editorial board of the Florida Bar Journal, and is a member of several sections of The Florida Bar, including the Pro Bono Service Awards Committee, Board of Governors and Business Law Section. He has been a member of The Florida Bar’s Public Member Screening Committee, Board of Bar Examiners Screening Committee and Special Commission on Lawyer Regulation.

Last year, the honor was awarded to Tampa criminal defense attorney Rochelle Reback and Carlton Fields attorney Sylvia Walbolt.

Stetson established the William Reece Smith Jr. Award in 1990. William Reece Smith Jr., the award’s namesake and its first recipient, is the past president of the American, International and Florida Bar associations.