Stetson’s Tax Moot Court Team wins national competition Feb. 11

Contact Brandi Palmer
Communications Specialist

Gulfport, Fla. – Stetson University College of Law’s Tax Moot Court Team won the National Tax Moot Court Competition Feb. 11 at the Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel on St. Pete Beach.

Stetson students beat a team from Louisiana State University, last year’s champions, in the final round of competitions. Fifteen teams from around the country competed. Judges from the United States Tax Court judged the final round.

“The students worked hard to prepare for this victory,” said Professor Stephanie Vaughan, the Moot Court Team adviser and director of the Tampa Law Center. “They deserve this national win.”

Stetson’s Moot Court team of Kathryn Everlove-Stone, Daniel Gomez and Andrea Vafides remained undefeated through three days of competition. This is the first time these students have competed together as the Tax Moot Court Team.

Professor Jennifer Murphy coached the winning team, assisted by Adjunct Professor Craig Behrenfeld. This is Professor Murphy’s first competition as coach.

The competition is sponsored by the Tax Section of the Florida Bar. The mission of the Tax Section of The Florida Bar is to serve and support its members and others by providing education, leadership and networking opportunities and promoting professionalism.