Faculty Senate

The organization that represents the University Faculty is the University Faculty Senate, with elected representatives from each of the three Colleges/Schools in DeLand. The Faculty Senate was established for the following purposes:

  1. To represent the faculty in all matters of University-wide policy and programs. The faculty by a majority vote may review any action of the Senate.
  2. To serve as a channel of communication for faculty in its relations with the administration and the student body.
  3. To speak for the faculty in matters pertaining to faculty standards and welfare, professional ethics, public relations, academic standards, admissions, graduation requirements, etc.

The Faculty Senate of the DeLand and Celebration campuses represents an elected body of the faculty. It is governed by Bylaws of the Faculty Senate and its policies, procedures, and committees. There are 19 faculty Senators and one Retired Faculty Advisor.